Bulldogs dominate Superlative recognitions

Photo by Tracy Erwin The Edgewood Bulldogs wrapped up a 9-1 run through District 12-3A play by winning at least a share of five Superlative honors as well as four spots on the All-District First Team.

County rivals Edgewood and Grand Saline made plenty of noise during the 2017 baseball season with each team playing well enough to continue their respective streaks of qualifying for postseason play.

Not surprisingly the Bulldogs, winners of District 12-3A with a 9-1 record, dominated Superlative recognitions by winning at least a share of five key honors: MVP, Pitcher of the Year, Defensive MVP, Offensive MVP and Newcomer of the Year.

Superlative winners in District 12-3A included:

-MVP: Tye Elie, EW

-Pitcher of the Year: Turner Bannister, EW; Noah Sneed, Mineola

-Defensive MVP: Trey Erwin, EW; Seth Hudgins, Mineola

-Offensive MVP: Kason Grant, EW; Brayden Stehman, Mineola

-Newcomer of the Year: Cooper Hill, EW

To read the full article, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors.