Ralph J. Parker

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

Ralph J. Parker


Services for Ralph J. Parker, 85, of Fruitvale, were held Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2017, at the Eubank Funeral Chapel in Canton with Bro. Homer Morgan and Eugene Parker officiating.  Interment followed be in Barrett Cemetery. Mr. Parker passed away Aug. 4, 2017, at Baylor hospital in Dallas due to a fall at his home August 2.

He was born Sept. 1, 1931, in Fruitvale to Lannie and Connie Junell Parker. 

He served as a deacon for more than 50 years and was a member of the Lawrence Springs Missionary Baptist Church.  He married Iva Nell King Aug. 15, 1952.  He served as an MP in the Army during the Korean War. Over the years he was a farmer, rancher, barber, rural mail carrier and a quality control inspector for Texas Instruments.  He was known locally for his scrumptious candied sweet potatoes, sweet potato pies and pecan pies. 

He was preceded in death by his parents; three brothers, G.W. “Dub”, Hayward, and Reber Windell Parker; three sisters, Dora Beatrice Whitaker, Maggie Virginia “Jinks” Parker, and Johanna Fay Nicholson; two granddaughters, Rheaona Williams Scott and Rachelle Williams Love; great-grandson, Jacob Love; and son-in-law Jerry Koonce.

He is survived by his wife of almost 65 years, Iva Nell Parker of Fruitvale; sons, Douglas Parker and Mitzi Fisher, and Eugene and Vicki Parker, both of Grand Saline; daughter, Barbara Parker Koonce of Grand Prairie; six grandchildren; 20 great-grandchildren and three great-great-grandchildren.

Pallbearers were Brandon Kindle, Jesse Love, Michael Moran, Doug Parker, Riley Parker, Willie Parker, and Michael Scott Jr. 

Honorary pallbearers were S.B. Burrow, Bill Cochran, Jimmy Fisher, David Hazel, Derrell King, Troy King, Roy Lee LaPrade, Doyle Milliorn, Charles Parker, and Gerald Sizemore.