FJH presents at TSTEM Academy

Courtesy photo Fruitvale ISD STEM advisors.

Fruitvale Junior High and High School Texas Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics Academies were selected to present at the 10th  annual Dallas TSTEM Academy Jan. 19-21.

Their presentation was titled ”Providing Innovative Courses for Rural School Students.” Presenters were principal Charles Harford, Counselor Amanda Masterson, and Curriculum Director Dr. Michelle Cline.  Fruitvale has been a TSTEM Academy for nine years and offers all five graduation pathways including STEM, Business and Industry, Multi-Disciplinary, Arts and Humanities, and Public Service.

Fruitvale Junior High earned five distinctions from TEA last year and the FHS earned three distinctions. Fruitvale Junior High was also named a Title I reward school. At the conference, there were over 1,100 participants in attendance from schools all across the state of Texas, said school officials.


TVEC seeks entries for trip

It may seem early for high school students to start thinking about summer plans, but planning ahead will really pay off for two area teens. Sophomores, juniors and seniors in the Trinity Valley Electric Cooperative service area have until Feb. 6 to submit entries to win an all-expenses-paid trip to Austin and Washington, D.C. for the Government-in-Action Youth Tour this June.

“It is so much more than just a tourist trip,” said TVEC Manager of Public Relations Bobbi Byford, who will act as a chaperone for the fifth time this year. “I see these kids leave their comfort zone at the beginning of the trip, and within nine days they see the world from a new perspective. They see that they can conquer college, they can get to know people they’ve never met, they can go into unfamiliar territory and really thrive.”


Martins Mill Elementary receives grant from Patterson

Martins Mill Elementary School received a grant from best-selling author James Patterson to support its school library.

In addition, the Scholastic Reading Club will match each dollar of Patterson’s donation with "bonus points" that teachers can use to acquire books and other materials for their classrooms. Martins Mill Elementary was selected amongst thousands of applications for funding grants.

First graders at Martins Mill start checking out books weekly at the beginning of the school year. Martins Mill Library will be using the Patterson Grant monies to purchase 89 new Rookie Reader books to start students on their reading journey.  These books will build reading confidence and increase fluency and reading for comprehension.  Since the library will have more books in this series, more students will have access to them and our students will achieve their reading level faster.


EHS holds NHS induction

Photo by Tracy Erwin

Edgewood High School held a National Honor Society Induction Ceremony Jan. 12. New inductees included Haylee Allen, Jedidiah Barker, Trey Erwin, Matthew Fields, Lauren Gravis, Tyler Johnson, Nicole Neal, Danae Rivers, Abraham Salinas, Mitchel Simmons, Nobel Smith and Kassidy Snyder.

For more stories like this one, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors. 


University News

Baylor University 

More than 3, 900 Baylor University students were named to the Dean's Academic Honor Roll for the 2016 fall semester. To be named to the dean's list, a student must be an undergraduate with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7, while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.  Cassidy Jo McCoy, Hankamer School of Business, Ben Wheeler, was named to the Dean’s Academic Honor Roll for the 2016 fall semester.

Victoria Anese Corley, of Ben Wheeler, received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Baylor University during fall commencement exercises, Dec. 17, 2016, in the Ferrell Center on the Baylor campus.

For more stories like this one, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors. 


Edgewood Intermediate School releases honor lists

On the A Honor Roll were 3rd grade – Dani Barbee, Maggie Bennett, Kaylee Coker, Brady Francis, Ethan James, Crew Jones, Maggie Jones, Kirsten Pearson, Lucas Pippin, Ty Rotan, Allison Valentine, Jadyn Vega, Jacob Williams

4th grade- Connor Baker, Braxton Bass, Vanessa DeLapaz, Rusty Evans, Marissa Furrh, Drea Gamboa, Natalie Jameson, Jaela Kelley, Heaven Love, Alex Martinez, Alex Moore, Travis Nelson, Kaydence Oldfield, Zoey Pippin, Savannah Sanders, Isabella Sanderson, Sydni Schley, Trinity Shipp, Ema’Lee Sills, Devyn Snipes-Wallace, Aishah Stallworth, Brayden Trlica, Madison Tyndell, Gunter Wilson.


Eaton wins 2016 Patriotic Art contest

Courtesy photo

The 2016 local Patriotic Art winner was Ka'lah Eaton, a junior from Martins Mill. Her art was exceptional in creativity and was sent to the state level for judging.  It did not place in state competition, but was enjoyed by all who saw it. She is the daughter of Sheila and Ryan Hanson of Van.

Each year the Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary Post 9171 of Canton offers the contest to local high school students, grades 9-12 to compete for $21,000 in national scholarships.

Students begin by submitting original artwork on paper or canvas. Forms are distributed to the students with all rules listed. It is then judged and the first-place art is sent to the State for judging.


University News: Texas State Technical College

Hobie Horrell, 20, of Edgewood, graduated from Texas State Technical College with an associate degree in Diesel Equipment Technology. He described his new job working on diesel equipment at Autoworks Sales and Service in Edgewood as a “good opportunity to work in his hometown.”

For more stories like this one, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors. 


Edgewood ISD announces Honor Roll

Students who were named to EISD first nine weeks honor roll are:

A Honor Roll

Emma Barry, Sibyl Bass, Miguel Cervantes, Skylie Davis, Aiden Fincher, Ty George, Jamie Grantham, Bailey Gray, Master Hardin, Callahan Hayes, Gus Haynes, DeTravion Henson, Jamie Herrera, Jacob Kimbrough, Jaxon Lambright, Ryker Lindsey, Jaidyn Malone, Madison Martin, Jonathan Martinez, Dria Parpart, Peyton Payne, Adam Pool, Morgan Randolph, Johnny Reed, Mason Riddle, Chace Robbins, Irelyn Rotan, Allie Sims, Hannah Sims, Emilia Teran, Hannah Tobin and Joelie White.

AB Honor Roll

Brayden Bell, Payzlea Bell, Cooper Bynog, Julie Campuzano, Aiden Fischer, Lance Hunter, Dylan Johnson, Devon Lee, Amber Merrell, Alex Prewitt, Donny Thompson and Michael Wells.


2016 Edgewood Homecoming

Photo by Tracy Erwin

Tye Elie and Whitney Kerr were selected as the 2016 EHS Homecoming King and Queen by their peers.

For more stories like this one, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors. 



Subscribe to RSS - Education