05 25 2015

Cawthon Crowned 2012 Van Oil Queen

Samantha Cawthon was crowned the 2012 Van Oil Queen at the annual pageant Saturday afternoon at Van Junior High School.
Queens, princesses and other major division winners in the other age divisions are as follows:
Baby Miss Queen Jayden Barron, Little Miss Beauty Division Winner Addison Barron, Little Miss Queen Harper McMillan, Dainty Miss Princess Alyssa Hallett, Dainty Miss Princess Mary Smothermon, Dainty Miss Princess Jaydn Smallwood, Beauty Division Winner Jadyn Reeves, Dainty Miss Queen Grace Smith.
Also, Cinderella Miss Princess Isella Duke, Cinderella Miss Princess Taylor Glover, Beauty Division Winner Taylor Rios, Cinderella Miss Queen Stacy Gandy, Princess Miss Beauty Division Winner Dakota Smallwood, Princess Miss Queen Kayla Danforth,.
Also, Young Miss Beauty Division Winner Treva Reese, Young Miss Queen Leela Smothermon, Imperial Miss Beauty Division Winner Avery Green, Imperial Miss Queen Lillie Fancher, Beauty Division Winner Kateland Kerby, Junior Miss Queen Kennedy Cawthon, Teen Miss Beauty Division Winner Kourtney Hope, Teen Miss Queen Rylea Thomas.
The Van Oil Ambassador for this year is Emma Lee. She received the Ambassador title for selling the most ads in our program book.
Van Chamber of Commerce Publicity Director Treva Prater said, “Advertising is very important. Without the advertising the cost would be astronomical.
“And, this book is used to showcase the contestants’ pictures and wish all the girls good luck for the day,” she added.
Other contestants who sold ads included Makenzie Bond, Jadyn Reeves, Grace Smith, Isella Duke, Stacy Gandy, Kayla Danforth, Dakota Smallwood, Avery Green, Kennedy and Samantha Cawthon.
Individual competition winners in the pageant included: Overall Photogenic Winner Makenzie Bond, Overall Beauty Winner Allie DeVille, Overall Causal Wear Winner Mikaylee Adams and Overall Talent Winner Juliann Johnson.
Also involved in the success of the Van Oil Pageant were Austin Bank, Farmhouse, Soulman’s Barbeque and Shear Paradise.
Austin Bank awarded a total of $500 that was divided up between the Van Oil Queen and other divisional queens. Farmhouse provided lunch for the pageant judges and emcee,
Soulman’s set up and provided lunch for the contestants their parents, and spectators, and Shear Paradise provided hair and make up services.
Van High School student Brittany Couch and country singer Caitlin Brette provided the entertainment.
Amanda Van Sickle served as emcee, and the judges  were Jonathan Chitty, ReJana Krause and Brandi Schumann.

Photo by Terry Britt
Samantha Cawthon wears the crown and robe of the Van Oil Queen Pageant after being named the 2012 Van Oil Queen on Saturday afternoon. She will appear at Saturday’s Van Oil Festival.


What Next?

Recent Articles