05 24 2015

Early Voting Set To Begin Monday

By David Kapitan
Staff Writer
Monday morning will mark the beginning of the early voting period for the upcoming school board and city council elections.
School Board
The election will include two seats on the board of trustees: Seat 4 currently held by Bryan Southard and Seat 5 currently held by Paul Sharp.
Southard, who first took office in May 2010, has been challenged for his seat by James Harris while Sharp, who was first elected in May 2004, has been challenged for his seat by Chuck Allen. Trustee terms are for three years.
Early voting by personal appearance will be conducted each weekday at Wills Point Administration between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. beginning on April 29, 2013 and ending on May 7, 2013 at 3:30 p.m.
On election day, Saturday, May 11, voting will be conducted at three locations:
-The Wills Point Municipal Court Building located at 307 N. 4th Street, Wills Point.
-The Elmo Volunteer Fire Station located on Highway 80 in Elmo.
-In Myrtle Springs at VZCR 3447/Hwy 64 in Myrtle Springs.
Voting on May 11 will run from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
City Council
In the Wills Point City Council election, city voters will elect three council seats (those belonging to Oscar Rogers, John Pope, and Paul Addison) and the position of mayor.
Candidates on the ballot for this year’s city council race include incumbent Oscar Rogers, Sherry Bailey Walker, Scott D. Stevens, Guy A. Crosby, John Foster and Kyle Anderson.
Council positions are selected at-large, with the top three vote getters this year earning a two-year term.
In the mayoral race, former council member Mark Turner will campaign against incumbent Wills Point mayor Deby S. Frye. The winner in the mayor’s race will also serve a two-year term.
Early voting for the city elections will take place at the Wills Point City Hall from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. on Monday, April 29 and Tuesday, April 30. From May 1 through May 7, voters can cast their ballots between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
On election day, Saturday, May 11, voters can cast their ballot at city hall from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

What Next?

Recent Articles