05 25 2015

Three Elected To Martins Mill Board

By Terry Britt
Staff Writer
MARTINS MILL— Incumbents Stuart Weatherford and Cindy Ball successfully earned new four-year terms on the Martins Mill ISD School Board.
Tuesday’s trustee election was the first for Martins Mill since 2008, the last time the district had enough candidates running to hold an election.
Weatherford topped the field of seven candidates with 303 votes. Ball ran a comfortable second with 269.
The two will be joined on the board by newcomer Keith Stringer, who received 197 votes.
Closest in the count to Stringer was Stoney Garner with 173 votes.
Following Garner were Chris Hayes with 138 votes, Carrie Lafleur with 134 and Jason Smith with 114.
The three winners will take office on Thursday when the board canvasses the election.
In Brownsboro ISD, incumbent Scott Williams won re-election by an overwhelming margin with 2,427.
A small portion of the district lies within Van Zandt County.
Michele Rinehart  had 1,617 votes to get the second spot on the school board, and Steve Sanders took the third and final place with 1,455 votes. Tammy Osborn Anderson finished fourth with 1,145.
The Brownsboro ISD School Board will canvass votes on Thursday at a called meeting. However, the elected trustees will not take office for their four-year terms until the board’s regular meeting in December.

What Next?

Recent Articles